Contentment + Culture

10710747_10152451801272896_2122558450221679951_nSometimes I wonder what life would look like if everyone focused more on the things that really matter. If we, as Christians, focused more on giving love instead of gaining “likes.” If we worried less about appearances and more about the condition of our hearts. Life would undoubtedly be much more satisfying.

It’s a struggle in our culture to keep sight of what’s actually important. We’re constantly being bombarded with advertisements and celebrities and news media and social platforms all telling us how to act, how to look, and what to think. The apostle Paul actually had a lot to say on this subject.

Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it.

Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you. (Romans 12:2 /MSG)

It’s about asking the question, are you just following everyone else without stopping to think about it first? In my opinion, there’s nothing inherently wrong with wearing skinny jeans and thick rimmed glasses, as long as it’s not the most important thing in your life.

Instead of basing my self-worth on the cost of my shoes, or searching for acceptance through the favorites on my tweets, I know that my true value comes from God. When you start seeking Him instead of serving culture, you’ll find contentment.

 Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes.  Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. (1 Peter 3:3-4 / NIV)

In an effort to grow my “gentle and quiet spirit,” I’ve begun to pray more, worship more, serve more, and love more. I’m seeing myself grow into a kinder, more patient and caring person. I’m free to build other women up, without feeling the need to compete with them. I can see how God is growing this new sense of maturity in me.

Taking a step back from the flurry of culture, and spending time alone with Him helps keep my mind at peace. There’s such incredible self-worth that comes from walking in His will, and furthering His plan for my life.

Knowing that God loves me exactly as I am, in this moment, is enough. I’m set free from working toward culture’s idea of happiness, and overwhelmed by His unending love.

Leave a Reply

