Our Sweet Boy

12081327_10153177228232896_71442076_n

Trust me when I say that no one was more surprised about this than me. If you’ve been following this blog for any length of time, you know that I was about 100% sure this baby was a girl and of course, I was wrong!

When we went to have the ultrasound, the first shot we saw was our sweet little baby on his side with his knees together. The tech poked around on my stomach for a minute saying, “Come on, wake up baby,” and eventually he rolled over. I started to ask her a question and before I could finish she said, “WAIT there it is!” and snapped a picture of our little baby. Daniel saw it before I did and when she said, “It’s a boy,” I almost didn’t believe her. Sure enough, that little baby was loud and proud about his gender though. We got six different photos from six different angles proving it. The tech even asked if we’d be okay with them using his picture as an example on their website because she’d never seen such a clear image of it before. Daniel followed that up by saying, “That’s my boy.”

12092541_10153177225632896_1119246390_nThe room we were in was dimly lit with warm lighting. Couches lined the walls and the bed I was laying on was nice and soft. We spent the next 15 minutes just watching our little guy wiggle around. He flipped onto his belly at one point and then rolled back around. He kept his hands by his face the whole time, and we only got one decent profile shot where you could see his tiny nose. Daniel got a little teary when we saw his little fingers moving. The last time we saw our baby, he was just the size of a blueberry and looked a bit like a shrimp. Seeing him move around made things seem a little more real. Here in front of us, on a giant projector screen, was our son. I cried a little too.

12083877_10153177225677896_499245366_nPart of me still can’t believe that we’ve been given such an enormous gift. I feel incredibly blessed and extremely humbled every day by this tiny little boy. An even bigger part of me can’t believe I’m having a son. I kept laughing and telling Daniel, “I don’t know what to do with a boy!” A future full of pink and baby dolls makes sense to me, but one filled with dirt and football practice seems totally foreign. Once it took time to sink in, I can honestly say that nothing has ever seemed so exciting to me before. Our entire life is about to be wrapped up in the giant adventure that is our tiny boy and nothing could be better.

I just can’t wait to get to know this little man and learn his personality. I can’t wait to snuggle up to him and give him all the love in the world. I can’t wait to finally give him a name and bring him home and make our little family feel complete. I love him so much already. My little boy.

One thought on “Our Sweet Boy

Leave a Reply

