The Past Five Weeks

12548979_10153350717827896_7530022632371445461_n

The past five weeks have been an incredible blur of great discomfort and even greater joy. I’ve surprised myself by how terrible I’ve become at keeping up with Bumpdates. To be completely honest, they were very exciting through the first two trimesters but by the time 30 weeks rolled around, there really wasn’t a whole lot of new stuff going on. I feel like my belly hasn’t grown much since then and Bennett isn’t really doing anything other than getting chubbier (me too, but let’s ignore that).

Meanwhile, life has taken a turn for the crazier. The closer we get to my due date, the more things we seem to have on our plate. Over weeks 33 and 34 I had my baby showers, in Alabama and Augusta. I’m planning on doing a whole post devoted to them so that I can show you all how wonderful they were. Bennett already has so many people praying for him daily and asking about him every time they see me. Nothing could make my heart happier than knowing my boy is coming into the world surrounded by people who already love him tremendously.

Because of everyone’s generosity, Bennett now has a nursery full of gifts to come home to. But, that also means Daniel and I have a nursery full of stuff to organize! My superhero of a husband has been working hard to get the furniture put together and decorations on the walls. Hopefully we’ll be able to get everything put up before Bennett makes his grand entrance.

12410530_10153368464447896_8085662636682348303_n

At 34 weeks, we had a 3D/4D ultrasound for fun so we could see his sweet face. Again, I promise I’m going to get a full post up soon devoted to that experience. I just want to be able to have quality versions of those pictures to post here. It was really emotional getting to see his face on the screen. He looks like a real, tiny human now. Actually, he looks like his dad. I didn’t cry like I thought I would, but it was mesmerizing to see my son’s face while he slept peacefully in my womb.

I’m going to post a 35 week Bumpdate next, which will be back to the regular format. Since I’ve missed the weeks in between, I just wanted to fill in the blanks with this post. Like I said, I’ll be posting more about the baby showers and his ultrasound sometime in the near future, but until then just hang in there with me!

I’m feeling pretty overwhelmed most of the time and I don’t want any of that to overflow into this blog. I created this to be a landing page for my thoughts and for the big moments in life. I don’t want it to be filled with stress or rushed posts that don’t do their content justice. I hope that makes sense. Anyway, I love you all and thanks for sticking with me!

Leave a Reply

