July Favorites: Beauty

A64C8BAA-5A9B-41A3-ABA3-3499C7B8586A_zps5vslar7d

Guys, it is HOT. I am convinced that during the summer months, the southeastern United States is about one degree away from being hades and my makeup does not appreciate it. With this thought in mind, I’ve stacked up my 5 favorite beauty products for July. These are definitely tried and true products that never let me down. Below I’ve listed my favorite things about each item and if you click the image, it will link you directly to the product page. Trust me when I say that I wouldn’t recommend anything I didn’t completely believe in. If you use any of these products, or decide to test them out after reading this post, let me know what you think!

 

primer

1) Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer:

I will admit that before finding this product, I’ve never used primers. I tried a few but they never seemed to actually do anything. I felt like I was dishing out money on something useless when I could be spending it on more important things, like lipstick and liner. One fateful afternoon as I was browsing the aisles in Sephora, one of the makeup artists suggested this primer to me. I have combination skin with a very oily T zone. She suggested applying the mattifying primer just to my oily areas and then applying foundation as I normally would once the primer had set. It. Changed. My. Life. The range includes 10 different primers to suit different needs, so if being matte isn’t your thing, be sure to check out the rest of the line. // $37 here

 

brow2) Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz:

Eyebrows are very important to me. I was blessed with thick, dark brows at an early age but spent most of my life feeling like it was a curse. My brows are unruly at best and very high maintenance. I had been hearing lots of hype around the Brow Wiz and eventually broke down and bought it. Let me just tell you guys, this product does not disappoint. My best word of advice is to go with a shade slightly lighter than your actual brow color. For instance, I have very dark brown brows but when I match the color exactly to any type of brow pencil, I end up with the sharpie brow look, which nobody really wants. I purchase this product in the color “taupe,” which allows me to define the shape and fill in any empty spaces without making my brows look too fake. Honestly, I think anyone with eyebrows needs this product. // $21 here

 

powder

3) Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder:

As I just mentioned, I truly appreciate a matte finish, especially during the summer months. I can honestly say that even when it’s 100 degrees outside, this setting powder stays put. Every once in a while I may need to touch up right around my nose by the end of the day, but that’s the best I could ask for. I tested this out by purchasing the 0.33oz travel size first and with everyday use, it lasted me over a month. The full 1oz container is definitely worth the extra cash, since you’ll get months of everyday use out of it. // $37 here

 

liner4) Stila All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner:

Wow, okay, this stuff is ridiculous. I have tried a lot of liners in my day but this one is truly my favorite. The formula glides easily over my lid and absolutely sticks in place. I generally apply my liner around 8am each morning and by 10pm it hasn’t budged one bit. I have even worn this liner during hour long sessions at the gym and it stays perfectly in place. If you’re someone who wants liner that is as black as your heart and practically permanent, this is for you. // $22 here

 

lip5) Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer (Shade- Apocaliptic):

First, this product is branded as “Apocalips” in the UK, but the formula is exactly the same. I bought this shade a few months ago and it’s never let me down. It’s extremely long-lasting, especially for a drugstore product. The formula is very hydrating and comfortable on the lips. It leaves a bit of a shine but isn’t so glossy and thick that your lips stick together (which I personally hate). It also doubles as a lip stain so that even when I eat and the product comes off, there’s still some color left.  // $4 here

 

 

Leave a Reply

