Loving Your Body: Intro

Having a positive view of my body has always been something that I’ve struggled with. I’ve always been considered “overweight,” and especially through middle and high school, the mental hostility I had against myself took its toll. I was extremely insecure, constantly comparing myself to the girls around me. I hated myself for every imperfection I could find. I never felt good enough, and the guilt was heavy.

After my son was born, I was left even more uncomfortable in my new body. I struggled with accepting the baby weight, which you can read about here, and felt like a stranger in my own skin. Nothing made me feel worse than trying to squeeze into those pre-pregnancy jeans or settling for maternity clothes when I was no longer pregnant. While I did strive to lose the extra weight, my main goal was to finally become comfortable with my body.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to share with you guys the steps I’ve taken to accept and love my body. This isn’t just for women who have had children, it’s for anyone who has ever felt unhappy in their own skin. What I write won’t be a magic fix for all of those negative emotions, but I hope that it will serve as a guide to help you find your way.

You are all so strong and so beautiful. More than anything, I hope to help you truly believe that.

Leave a Reply

