Be Still

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

As a mother, it can be so difficult to find the time to simply be still. My eyes open in the morning to the sound of crying from the baby monitor and it’s a non-stop rush until around 10pm at night. I get the baby ready, myself ready, go to work, go home, put the baby to bed, clean the house, and finally get some sleep before it all starts over again the next day.

My mind is always running a million miles a minute. I’m extremely forgetful and can hardly remember my own name half the time. I get through the day on coffee and dry shampoo, because who has time for breakfast and a shower?

There are people I’ve been meaning to call for weeks and just can’t find the time. There are gifts I’ve thought to send, friends I want to see, books I need to read, and time I’d like to spend enjoying the company of my husband and son.

It’s so very easy to get caught up in the pace of the world. Our culture is one that never stops moving, never takes a break, and never lets you catch your breath. I think that’s why it’s so important that we remember to stop every now and then and rest.

For me, resting can be a difficult process. You have to intentionally ignore the dirty dishes, forget the unfolded laundry, and put the office out of your mind. Instead, fill your time with things you love in places that allow you to rest and be restored. Whether that’s a quiet cafe, a picnic with friends, or a night in with your family.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned since having my son, it’s that life moves so much faster than I ever realized before. You blink once and everything’s changed. At the end of my days when I look back at my life, I want it to be filled with joyful memories of the people I love. I don’t think I’ll care much about how clean the house was.
xo,
alaina
Leave a Reply

